It’s probably been noted by those reading this blog that I am not a big fan of adoptive parents, any adoptive parents, anywhere, I don’t think adoption can ever be redeemed, can ever be made ethical. And far too often adoptive parents and prospective adoptive parents come across as entitled, privilege blind eejits, they really do. But every so often I come across an adoptive parent blog that doesn’t make me want to hurl, or even more than this makes me think that their children might have a fighting chance of having their issues acknowledged and supported. They are few and far between but those I’ve noticed so far are This Woman’s Work, Production, Not Reproduction,
Adoption Talk
and O Solo Mama. You know what they have in common? They all have adult adoptees on their blog roll. (well okay This Woman’s Work doesn’t have a blog roll but it does have a google reader widget in which she regularly shares adult adoptees words) They all read and listen to what adult adoptees have to say about their experiences of being adopted, they are open to learning from adult adoptees, they don’t think they know the adoptee experience better than the people who lived it.

It really disturbs me the amount of adoptive parents and prospective adoptive parents who have no adult adoptees blogrolled and clearly are not reading or listening to anything we have to say.

